Study in The United Kingdom

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK or U.K.) or Britain is a sovereign country located off the north¬western coast of the European mainland. The United Kingdom includes the island of Great Britain, the north¬eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands.
Gross domestic product: 6.3 million
Currency: GBP
Capital: London

Northern Ireland shares a land border with the Republic of Ireland. Otherwise, the United Kingdom is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, with the North Sea to the east, the English Channel to the south and the Celtic Sea to the southwest, giving it the 12th-longest coastline in the world. The Irish Sea separates Great Britain and Ireland. The total area of the United Kingdom is 94,000 square miles (240,000 km2).

The United Kingdom is a unitary parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy. The current monarch is Queen Elizabeth II, who has reigned since 1952, making her the world’s longest-serving current head of state. The United Kingdom’s capital is London, a global city and financial centre with an urban area population of 10.3 million. Other major cities include Birmingham, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, and Manchester.

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom has the world’s sixth-largest economy by nominal gross domestic product (, and the ninth-largest by purchasing power parity (PPP). It has a high-income economy and a very high human development index rating, ranking 14th in the world. It was the world’s first industrialised country and the world’s foremost power during the 19th and early 20th centuries. The UK remains a great power, with considerable economic, cultural, military, scientific and political influence internationally. It is a recognised nuclear weapons state and is sixth in military expenditure in the world. It has been a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council since its first session in 1946.

The United Kingdom is a leading member of the Commonwealth of Nations, the Council of Europe, the G7, the G20, NATO, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Interpol and the World Trade Organization (WTO). It was a member of the European Union (EU) and its predecessor, the European Economic Community (EEC) for 47 years, between 1 January 1973 and withdrawal on 31 January 2020

The education system in the UK is divided into four main parts, primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the UK have to legally attend primary and secondary education which runs from about 5 years old until the student is 16 years old.

Generally key stages 1 and 2 will be undertaken at primary school and at 11 years old a student will move onto secondary school and finish key stages 3 and 4.

Students are assessed at the end of each stage. The most important assessment occurs at age 16 when students pursue their GCSE’s or General Certificate of Secondary Education. Once students complete their GCSE’s they have the choice to go onto further education and then potential higher education, or finish school and go into the working world.

United Kingdom

Our UK partners:

University of Creative Arts

Cardiff University
Coventry University London
Durham University
Hanze University of Applied Sciences
Kingston University
Lancaster University
Leeds Beckett University
Liverpool John Moores University
Royal Holloway
Tilburg University
University College Dublin
University of Aberdeen
University of Huddersfield
University of Leeds
University of Lincoln
University of Sheffield International College
University of Strathclyde
University of Surrey
University of Sussex
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

University of Sheffield International College
Newcastle University
New Castle University London
University of Exeter
University of Aberdeen
University of Surrey
University of East Anglia
Queen’s University Belfast
University of Strathclyde
Durham University International Study Centre
Swansea University – Singleton Park
Swansea University – Bay Campus
University of Stirling
Cranfield University
University of the West of England – UWE Bristol – Frenchay
University of the West of England – UWE Bristol – City Campus
University of the West of England – UWE Bristol – Glenside
Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU)
Liverpool John Moores University – North West
Coventry University London
Middlesex University
University of Huddersfield
Kingston University London
University of Lincoln
Leeds Beckett University
University of South Wales – Treforest
University of South Wales – Glyntaff
University of South Wales – Cardiff
University of South Wales – Newport City
University of Gloucestershire
York St John University – London – York Business School
De Montford University Leicester